IRES Institutet för Rysslands- och Eurasienstudier

Personal

Below you fill find a list with a permanent staff at the UCRS. For Affiliated researchers, please scroll to the bottom of the page.


Astapova, Anastasiya (Swedish Institute visiting fellow 1 Sep-31 Aug; research fellow at the Department  of Estonian and Comparative Folklore, University of Tartu )

Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: anastasiya.ast@gmail.com

Research areas 
Political folklore, nationalism, humor, belief, protest, conspiracy theories, migration, refugees, Belarus, Estonia, Central Asia.


  Asztalos Morell, Ildikó  (PhD, Docent in Sociology,
Associate Professor at Mälardalen University,
Senior research fellow at IRES)

Phone: +46 (0) 18 471 5357
Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: ildiko.asztalos@ires.uu.se

Research areas
Rural transition in Eastern Europe and Scandinavia, collectivization and family farming in historical and comparative perspective in Eastern Europe, gender and rural transition, poverty studies, marginalization of Roma in rural communities, rural care regimes in Scandinavia.


Bedford, Sofie (Ph.D, Researcher)

Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: sofie.bedford@ires.uu.se

Research areas: Political, social and religious mobilization, social movements, civil society, online activism. Geographic area of interest: the former Soviet republics in general and South Caucasus and Azerbaijan in particular.


Bennich-Björkman, Li (Johan Skytte Professor in Eloquence and Political Science)

Phone: +46 (0) 18 471 3456
Mobile: +46 (0) 70 167 9504
Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: li.bennich-bjorkman@ires.uu.se

Research areas
Baltic studies, comparative post-communism, political culture, exile communities, new EU member states, party politics.


Berger, Gunilla (Personaladministratör)

Phone: +46 (0) 18 471 5363
Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: gunilla.berger@ires.uu.se


Bogolepova, Olga (PhD, researcher)

Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: olga.bogolepova@ires.uu.se  


Buscaneanu, Sergiu (Swedish Institute visiting fellow 1 Sep-31 Dec)

Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: sergiu.buscaneanu@alumni.hu-berlin.de

Research interests
EU external governance, democratization, regime dynamics, democratic diffusion, democratic theory, FSU, ENP, EaP, prospect theory.


Dvorak, Jaroslav (visiting fellow 25 Sep - 25 Oct)

Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: Jaroslav.Dvorak@ku.lt 


Eliaeson, Sven (Professor; Researcher,

Visiting professor in sociology at CSS/GSSR at IFiS PAN in Warsaw) 

Phone: +46 (0) 18 471 7110
Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: sven.eliaeson@ires.uu.se

Research areas
The classics of social science, Max Weber studies, "East of the Elbe"-affairs, security policy, the role of the classics for the interpretation of post-1989 transformation processes, Gunnar Myrdal as a European public intellectual.


Gehsbarga, Jevgenija (Information Officer)

Phone: +46 (0) 18 471 1630
Mobile: +46 (0) 70 425 0827
Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397

E-mail: jevgenija.gehsbarga@ires.uu.se
 


Giorio, Laura (intern)

Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: laura.giorio@ires.uu.se


Götz, Elias (Post doctoral researcher)

Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: elias.gotz@ires.uu.se

Research areas
Security studies, international relations theory, Russian foreign policy, great power politics, neighborhood policies of major and emerging powers


Hansen, Julie (Ph.D., Researcher)

Phone: +46 (0) 18 471 1683
Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: julie.hansen@ires.uu.se

Research areas
20th- and 21st-century Russian literature, memory studies, translation studies, transnational and transcultural literature, migration literature, identity formation.  


Hedlund, Stefan (Professor of Russian and East European Studies) 

Phone: +46 (0) 18 471 1699
Mobile: +46 (0) 70 167 9503
Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: stefan.hedlund@ires.uu.se
Homepage: www.stefanhedlund.com

Research areas
Russian economy, Institutional theory and causes of systemic failure, Russian economic development and attempted reforms, Russian energy policy, Russian history, Color revolutions and limits to agency interventions.


Karlsohn, Irina (PhD., Researcher)

Phone: +46 (0) 18 471 5365
Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: irina.karlsohn@ires.uu.se



Research areas
19th- and 20th-century Russian literature, Russian religious philosophy, history of ideas, identity formation.


Kott, Matthew (DPhil) 

Phone: +46 (0) 18 471 5355
Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: matthew.kott@ires.uu.se

Research areas
Contemporary history, history of ideas, Baltic Sea Region, Baltic states, Scandinavia, Germany, Russia/Soviet Union, civil society, ideologies and political movements, occupation regimes, political mass violence, Romani minorities, majority-minority relations, historical memory, public history.   


Kragh, Martin (Ph.D., Researcher) 

Phone: +46 (0) 18 471 5359
Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: martin.kragh@ires.uu.se

Research areas
Economic history of Russia and the former Soviet Union, political economy, history of economic thought, comparative economic systems.


Lehmbruch, Barbara (Ph.D, Researcher)

Phone: +46 (0)18 471 7176
Fax: +46 (0)18 10 6397
E-mail: barbara.lehmbruch@ires.uu.se

Research areas
Public Administration Reform, Comparative and International Political Economy, Governance of Economic Sectors, Institutional Transfer, Informal Institutions, European Neighborhood Policy, Aid Effectiveness, Russia and the Caucasus


Levinsson, Claes (Director)

Phone: +46 (0) 18 471 1696
Mobile: +46 (0) 70 167 9501
Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: claes.Levinsson@ires.uu.se

Research Areas
Security Studies, Foreign Policy Analysis, International Relations, NATO-enlargement, EU, The Baltic States, Qualitative methods. 


Loader, Michael (PostDoc researcher)

E-mail: michael.loader@ires.uu.se
Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397

Research Areas
Latvia, nationalism in the Soviet Union, the Khrushchev era USSR, Soviet political purges, centre-periphery relations, national communism, Baltic history, and patronage in Soviet high politics


Lochakov, Ruslan

Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: ruslan.lochakov@ires.uu.se

 
 


Lubenow, Lena (Financial administrator)

Tel:  +46 (0) 18 471 1697
Mobile: +46 (0) 070 167 9014
Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: lena.lubenow@ires.uu.se


Makarova, Marina (Swedish Institute visiting fellow 1 Sep - 31 Aug; Professor at the Department of Sociology at Udmurt State University, Institute of History and Sociology (Izhevsk, Russia)

Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: makmarmaru@gmail.com


Marceta, Stella (Guest Researchers Coordinator)


Phone: +46 (0) 18-471 53 53
Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: stella.marceta@ires.uu.se


Mjør, Kåre Johan (PhD, Postdoctoral Research Fellow)

Phone: +46 (0) 18 471 5362
Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: kare.mjor@ires.uu.se

Research areas
Russian philosophy, Russian historiography, intellectual history of late Imperial Russia, the Russian interwar emigration and post-Soviet Russia, identity formation, nationalism.



Namli, Elena (Professor in Theological Ethics)

Phone: +46 (0) 18 471 14 59
Mobil: +46 (0) 70 167 9502
Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: elena.namli@ires.uu.se
Homepage: http://www.elenanamli.com/

Research areas
Ethics, Human rights, Identity formation, Russian philosophy, Russian theology, Theory of Rights.


Navumau, Vasil (Swedish Institute visiting fellow 1 Sep–31 May)

Fax: + 46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: naumov.vasily@gmail.com


Ohlsson, Johanna (PhD candidate) 

Phone: +46 (0) 18 471 5360
Fax: + 46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: johanna.ohlsson@ires.uu.se

Research areas
Ethics of peace and war, human rights, international relations, ethical perspectives on external involvement in peacemaking, Russia and Africa.


 Padskocimaite, Ausra (PhD candidate)

Tel: +46 (0) 18 471 5358
Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: ausra.padskocimaite@ires.uu.se

Research areas 
Human rights, international human rights law, regional human rights systems (especially European and Inter-American), victims’ rights in international criminal law, rule of law, democratization and tolerance in post-communist states. 


Polishchuk, Leonid (Researcher)

Tel: +46 (0) 18 471 7170
Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: leonid.polishchuk@ires.uu.se

Research areas 
political economy, institutional reform, and the role of culture, social networks and norms in economic development, political processes, and government performance


Rabow-Edling, Susanna (Associate Professor in Political Science,
Senior Research Fellow)

Phone: +46 (0) 18 471 1695
Fax: +46 (0) 18 471 6397
E-mail: susanna.rabow-edling@ires.uu.se

Research areas
Russian political thought; nationalism; imperialism; colonialism; identity formation; gender; Russian America.


Ryumina, Svetlana (guest student 5 Sep-26 Dec; Northern Arctic Federal University (NArFU) in Arkhangelsk, Russia)

Fax: +46 (0) 18 471 6397
E-mail: ryumina.svetlana@gmail.com


Simons, Greg (PhD, Researcher)

Phone: +46 (0)18 471 1694
Fax: +46 (0)18 10 6397
E-mail: greg.simons@ires.uu.se

Research areas
Russian mass media, military conflict, crisis management, security sector reform, Russian Orthodox Church, nation-branding, PR


Smirnova, Olga (visiting PhD student 18 Sep - 15 Jan)

Fax: +46 (0)18 10 6397
E-mail: p8w15@yandex.ru


Smrek, Michal (PhD candidate)

Phone: +46 (0)18 471 5725
Fax: +46 (0)18 10 6397
E-mail:  michal.smrek@ires.uu.se 



Research areas
Gender and Politics, female MPs' re-election, party recruitment, voters' bias, gender quotas, quantitative methodology.


Stöcker, Lars Fredrik (PhD, Researcher)
At Vienna University 1 October 2015 - 30 September 2017 

Phone: + 43-1-4277-41106
E-mail: fredrik.stocker@ires.uu.se

Institut für Osteuropäische Geschichte
Universität Wien
Spitalgasse 2, Hof 3
A - 1090 Wien
Österrike

Research areas
Contemporary history, Baltic Sea Region, market reforms in the Soviet Union, East-West contacts in Cold War Europe, exile communities, political opposition in communist Europe.


Svanberg, Ingvar (Senior scholar; Researcher)

Tel: +46 (0) 18 471 1685
Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: ingvar.svanberg@ires.uu.se


Research areas
Ethnobiology, cultural zoology, companion animals, minority studies, animal hoarding, aviculture, inter-religious relations, Saami, Turkic and other Altaic
peoples, Inner Asia, Siberia, Estonia, Circumpolar
studies, Northern Atlantic Area, Qualitative methods.


Sätre, Ann-Mari (Associate Professor in Economics, Senior lecturer/
senior researcher at IRES) 

Phone: +46 (0) 18 471 1660
Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: ann-mari.satre@ires.uu.se

Research areas
Russia, the Soviet economic system, poverty, institutions, transformation of Russian labour market with respect to gender, local development, entrepreneurship.  


Torbakov, Igor (Senior Research Fellow)


Phone: +46 (0)18 471 5361
Fax: +46 (0)18 10 6397
E-mail: igor.torbakov@ires.uu.se
 

Research areas
Nationalism, identity formation, history of ideas, Russian and Soviet nationality policies, empire studies, Russian foreign policy, Russia-Turkey relations.  


Vinatier, Laurent (PhD, Research Associate)

E-mail: l.vinatier@institut-thomas-more.org

Research areas
Political, social and religious mobilisation, non-state actors' strategy, diaspora issues, conflict-resolution, private diplomacy. Geographical area of interest : Post-Soviet States, with a particular focus on Russia, Ukraine, Belarus and Azerbaijan.


Vladimirova, Vladislava (PhD, researcher) 


Phone: +46 (0) 18 471 5364
Fax: +46 (0)18 10 6397
E-mail: vladislava.vladimirova@ires.uu.se


Research areas
Postsocialist Economy, Social Transformation, Civil Society, Minority State Policy, Morality, Indigenous Ethnicity, Identity, Traditional Subsistence Economy, Land Use, the Russian North, Polar  Studies, Climate Change, Reindeer Herding, Sami People, Anthropology.


Wood-Donnelly, Corine (PhD, researcher)

Phone: +46 (0) 18 471 0000
Fax: +46 (0)18 10 6397
E-mail: corine.wood-donnelly@ires.uu.se

Affiliated researchers

Berglund, Christofer (Ph.D., Postdoctoral Researcher)

E-mail: christofer.berglund@ires.uu.se

Research areas
Ethnic politics and implicit attitudes; democratization and hybrid regimes; informal institutions and corruption; post-Soviet Eurasia and the South Caucasus; elite interviews, controlled comparisons, and field experiments.


Giandomenico, Jessica (Ph.D.)

E-mail: jessica.giandomenico@ires.uu.se

Research Areas
EU Enlargement, Western Balkans, democratization, institutionalism, elections, EU foreign policy, norm transfer, and power theory. 


Heffermehl, Fabian (Ph.D.)

Phone: +46 (0) 18 471 5352
Fax: +46 (0) 18 10 6397
E-mail: fabian.heffermehl@ires.uu.se 

Research areas
Russian philosophy and literature, Russian Avantgarde, Theology of icons,
relationship between Art history and Mathematics.


Ishov, Zakhar (PhD Yale, PhD FU Berlin, Archival Assistant, 
Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University)

E-mail: zakhar.ishov@yale.edu 

Research areas
19th c. & 20th c. Russian literature, Joseph Brodsky, translation studies, poetry translatability, versification theories, classical & Italian influence on world literatures, identity formation, history of totalitarianism, history of censorship, literature of dissent, émigré literature, gender studies, comparative literature.


Kalinnikova, Lia (Ph.D., Associate Professor of Northern Arctic Federal University,
Institute of pedagogy, psychology and social work, chair of social work)

E-mail: Liya.Kalinnikova@hig.se


Research areas
East European countries (Moldova, Ukraine, Russia,  Georgia, Armenia) meeting circumstances of deep economical polarization and poverty; human resources in poverty and disability; how the political agenda of these countries is challenging institutional welfare; children with different impairments and needs and learning problems in education; the ‘image’ of family life of families with children with impairments; transcendental ethics in unique family contexts (including the area of alternative and augmentative communication - AAC); welfare policy development and fostering children; methodology research: phenomenology hermeneutics, case study, comparative studies.


Kurbatov, Sergiy (PhD, Institute of Higher Education,
National Academy of Educational Sciences of Ukraine)

E-mail: sergiy.kurbatov@ires.uu.se

Research areas
Models of university in the 21st century, National and international university rankings, Internationalization of university, Quality of political elite, Shaping of elite in Post-Soviet countries, Philosophy of time. 


Matz, Johan (Ph.D., Associate Professor)

E-mail: johan.matz@ires.uu.se


Research Areas
Russian foreign policy, international relations, foreign policy analysis, Raoul Wallenberg, constructivism, intelligence history, parliamentary oversight. 


Smith, David (Professor of Baltic History and Politics, University of Glasgow)

E-mail: david.smith@glasgow.ac.uk

Research areas
Contemporary history, politics and international relations of the Baltic states and Baltic Sea Region; nationalism, democracy and the political management of ethnic diversity; social identities and politics of memory in East-Central Europe.


Viktorov, Ilya (PhD, Lecturer, Department of Economic History, Stockholm University)

E-mail: ilja.viktorov@ires.uu.se   


Research areas
Political economy of Russian financial markets; Russia's economic development; central banking; international political economy


Yatsyk, Alexandra (Ph.D., Head of the Centre for Cultural Studies of
post-Socialism, Kazan Federal University) 

E-mail: ayatsyk@gmail.com

Research areas
post-Soviet identity, mega-events, biopolitics, regional studies, Estonia, Ukraine, Georgia, Russia